Cuttack District, one of Odisha’s oldest, is a significant city and district headquarters with historical prominence as the former capital of the state.

Geography and Climate:Geographically located between 20°03′ to 20°40′ N latitude and 84°58″ to 86°20′ E longitude, Cuttack is flanked by the Mahanadi river to the north and Kathajodi river to the south. Covering 3932 sq km, the district experiences a tropical climate with hot summers, cold winters, and heavy monsoon rainfall.

Economic Landscape:Agriculture is the primary livelihood source for about 76% of the population, supported by rivers and canals. Cash crops like rice, pulses, oilseeds, jute, sugarcane, coconut, and turmeric contribute significantly to the economy. The district is known for handicrafts, particularly silver filigree works, and hosts various large and medium industries.

Industrial Development:Handicraft cooperatives and training institutes boost the handicraft industry, with major industries like Indian Metals and Ferro Alloys (IMFA) and Paradeep Oxygen. Ongoing and upcoming projects include Odisha Cement Ltd, Tata Power, Visa Power, Nilachal Power, and Arati Steel. Industrial estates play a crucial role in the district’s industrial growth.

Education and Research:Cuttack is home to premier educational institutions like Ravenshaw University, SCB Medical College, National Law University, and research institutes such as National Rice Research Institute and Regional Spinal Injury Centre.

Prominent Personalities:The district has produced notable personalities like Netaji Subash Chandra Bose, Utkal Gourav Madhusudan Das, Karma Veera Gouri Shankar Ray, Dr. Radhanath Rath, Dr.Harekrushna Mahatab, Biju Patnaik, and Pyarimohan Acharya.

Demographics:As of the 2011 Census, Cuttack District has a population of 2,624,470, with a density of 667 per sq km. The literacy rate stands at 85.5%, and the sex ratio is 940 females per 1000 males.

Public Representatives

List of  Member of parliaments of the Dist

SL No. Constituency NameName of MPPhoto
 114- CuttackShri Bhartruhari Mahtab

List of  Member of Legislative Assembly of the District

SL No. Constituency NameName of MLA Photo
 1 87-BarambaDebiprasad Mishra
 2  88-Banki  Devi Ranjan Tripathy
389-AthgarhRanendra Pratap Swain
490-Barabati-CuttackMohammed Moquim
591-Choudwar-CuttackSouvic Biswal
692-Niali(SC)Dr.Pramod Kumar Mallick
793-Cuttack Sadar(SC)Chandra Sarathi Behera
894-SalipurShri Prasanta Behera
995-MahangaPratap Jena

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *