Deogarh, an administrative district in Odisha, was carved out of the larger Sambalpur district on January 1, 1994. Formerly part of the Bamanda or Bamra State, the district’s name translates to “Abode of Divinity.”

Cultural Heritage: Deogarh boasts a rich cultural tradition with gifts of mountains, springs, falls, forests, and diverse flora and fauna. Myths and folklores surround the origin of the name Bamanda, linking it to rulers Bama and Manda, Lord Ramachandra’s footprints, and the simians losing their way during Rama’s search for Sita.

Land of Many Names:The district is known by various names such as Bamanda, AkhojBamanda, Sankhajyoti Mandal, Sripunji Mandal, Ganga Rajya, Bamanda Pati, Jadav Desh, Singhan Rajya, Baghar Kota, and Bamanda Mandal. In the 11th century, the Brahmani River was referred to as “Sankha Jyoti Nadi,” influencing the choice of a conch (Shanka) as the royal emblem by the Ganga dynasty.

Evolution of Deogarh:During the merger of Bamanda state with Odisha, the sub-division formed from a significant portion of the princely state was named Deogarh. The British spelling “Deogarh” persisted, even after the sub-division attained district status in 1994.

Geographical Significance:Situated in the basin of the holy Brahmani River, Deogarh’s enchanting landscapes and cultural richness contribute to its prominence as an “Abode of Divinity.”

Public Representatives

List of  Member of Legislative Assembly of the District

SL No. Constituency NameName of MLA Photo
 1 19-Deogarh Subash Chandra Panigrahi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *