An administrative District of Odisha, Nayagarh District was created in 1st April 1993 when the erstwhile Puri District was split into three distinct Districts. The District is bounded by Cuttack District on the North, Kandhamal District on the West, Ganjam District on the South and Khordha District on its East.Birth history of Nayagarh District in around the thirteenth century and is considered as an important part in the political history of Odisha. King Suryamani of Baghela dynasty came to Puri on a pilgrimage from Madhya Pradesh and established his kingdom at Nayagarh. Nayagarh District consists of the four Garjat states of ex-states Ranpur, Nayagarh, Khandapara and Daspalla. The aboriginal Savaras and Kandhas are the indigenous people of Nayagarh District.Nayagarh District lies between 19 degree 54’ to 20 degree 32’ North Latitude and 84 degree 29’ to 85 degree 27’ East Longitude. The District is situated on the hilly ranges in the West and its North Eastern parts have formed small well cultivated fertile valleys intersected by small streams.

Nayagarh District Covering an geographical area of 3890 sq km consists total 962789 population as per 2011 census. The total male population of the District is 502636 and female population is 460153. As per administration is concerned, the District has got one sub division namely Nayagarh. There are 8 Tahasils, 8 Blocks, 14 Police stations, 194 Gps and 1702 villages functioning in the District.

The District experiences tropical climate, with the summers being hot and the winters cold. The maximum temperature that this district experiences is well above 40 deg C (during summers) and the minimum can be as low as 10 degree celsius (during winters). Summers generally last from March to June and winters, from October to February. Rainfall is generally heavy during the monsoons, which occur during the months of July and August. South West monsoon is primarily responsible for the rainfall in this District.

The literacy rate of the Nayagarh District is 80.42 percent. There are many educational institutions in the District. Raghunath Samabaya Mahavidyalaya, Ranapur College, Pathani Samanta College, Nayagarh Autonomous college are the important colleges of the Nayagarh District.

Nayagarh District is the land of eminent personalities. Baishnab Kabi Sadananda Kabisurya Brahma, Bhaktakabi Bhaktacharan, Utkal Ghanta Jadumani are some of the important personalities of the District.

The District of Nayagarh celebrates many fairs and festivals round the year. Ravanapodi at Daspalla, Pana Sanakranti of Dakhinakali at Nayagarh, Shivaratri of Sri Ladubaba at Sarankul, Magha Saptami at Kantilo, Ram Navami at Odagaon, Car Festival at Nayagarh are the main festivals of the District.

Public Representatives

List of Member of Legislative Assembly of the District

Sl.NoConstituency NameName of MLAPhoto
Satyanarayan Pradhan
Soumya Ranjan Patnaik
3121-Daspalla (SC)
Ramesh Chandra Behera
4122-NayagarhAruna Kumar Sahoo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *